Common Wealth Judges and Magistrates Association

The Association was founded in 1970 as the Commonwealth Magistrates Association and the current name was adopted in 1988. The Association is registered as a charitable organisation in the United Kingdom. It is a Company Limited by Guarantee and not having a Share Capital.

The Association is governed by a General Assembly of its Members which meets not less frequently than every fourth year.

It has been the normal practice of the Association for the General Assembly of Members to be held during the week of the Triennial Conference. There is an elected Council upon which sit three representatives from each of six regions:

East, Central and Southern Africa 
West Africa 
Indian Ocean 
Atlantic and Mediterranean 
Pacific Ocean
plus the President, the Executive Vice-President, the Treasurer.

Click here for more information on CMJA