Other Courts

The Uganda Judiciary is composed of Courts of Judicature, which include: subordinate courts including Qadhis Courts for marriage, divorce, inheritance of property and guardianship, as prescribed by Parliament. The Uganda Judiciary also has supervisory or other powers over other judicial and quasi-judicial institutions, including:

  • The Local Council Courts;
  • Family and Children Courts,
  • And other institutions from which appeals are lodged to the High Court. The High Court is decentralized to eleven High Court stations up country, and one within greater Kampala, and the Magistrates Courts are located throughout Uganda.