High Court

The High Court of Uganda is located at Plot 2, the Square Kampala and it is the third court of record in order of hierarchy and has  unlimited original jurisdiction, which means that it can try any case of any value or crime of any magnitude. Appeals from all Magistrates Courts go to the High Court. 

The High Court is headed by the Honorable Principal Judge who is responsible for the administration of the court and has supervisory powers over Magistrate's courts. 

The High Court has eight Divisions:-

1. Civil Division
2. Commercial Division
3. Family Division
4. Land Division
5. Criminal Division
6. Anti-Corruption Division
7. International Crimes Division
8. Execution and Bailiffs Division. 

Most of the business  of the High Court is conducted at its headquarters in Kampala, but with the decentralization of the High Court, its services are now obtained at its High Court circuits namely:-

1. Luwero High Court 
2. Lira High Court 
3. Mubende High Court 
4. Mpigi High Court 
5. Masaka High Court 
6. Mbarara High Court 
7. Fort Portal High Court
8. Masindi High Court
9. Hoima High Court
10. Arua High Court
11. Gulu High Court
12. Soroti High Court
13. Mbale High Court
14. Tororo High Court
15. Jinja High Court
16. Iganga High Court
17. Mukono High Court
18. Kabale High Court
19. Rukungiri High Court
20. Moroto High Court

The Honorable Judges of the High Court