JUDICIARY Latest Features

Chief Justice Swears in New EC Commissioners
Hon. Justice Simon Mugenyi Byabakama, JCA taking oath at the swearing in ceremony

Kampala. Court of Appeal Justice, Hon. Justice Simon Byabakama took oath of office as the new chairman of the Electoral Commission alongside six other commissioners. Those sworn in are Chairperson, Hon. Justice Simon Byabakama, Deputy Chairperson Hajjat Aisha Lubega, Mr. Ahabwe Mugabi, Hon. Steven Tashobya, Mr. Ssebaggala Kigozi, Mr. Peter Emorut and Mr. Nathaline Etomaru.

At the swearing in at the High court in Kampala, the Hon. Chief Justice, Bart Katureebe cautioned them to remain firm and stick to the law. He urged them to ensure total independence of the Electoral Commission in order to ensure free and fair elections in the country.

He cited the upcoming LC1 and 2 elections as their litmus test in which he expects them to run it as the law requires. "You can only withstand the pressure when what you do is in accordance with the law," Hon. Justice Katureebe said.

The new EC chairperson Hon. Justice Simon Byabakama pledged to manage the mandate and activities of the EC to the satisfaction of the people, especially in respect to the criticisms labelled against its ability to observe its cardinal principles.

Hon. Justice Byabakama implored Ugandans to give them time to prove themselves. He also reminded Ugandans that the Electoral Commission is the vehicle through which they can freely express themselves on who to govern them at all political levels He urged everyone to join hands with them to see that the EC performs to their aspirations and expectations.

Hon. Justice Byabakama promised to critically look into the Supreme Court recommendations it made in the post 2016 presidential elections court ruling.

Posted 17th, January 2017
  • Share